NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE JOINT MEETING WITH WORKFORCE COMMITTEE AND EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, March 31, 2010 House Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 8:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call
- 8:35 a.m. Introductory and welcoming comments by Representative Bob Skarphol, Chairman, Higher Education Committee; by Representative David Monson, Chairman, Education Committee; and by Senator Tony S. Grindberg, Chairman, Workforce Committee, and presentation of a video entitled *Did You Know?*
- 8:50 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Wiley, Associate Professor of Instructional Psychology and Technology, Brigham Young University, regarding how technology and the open source movement are lowering costs, improving learning, and transforming education
- 10:10 a.m. Break
- 10:20 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Thomas Kilijanek, WorkKeys Regional Manager, ACT, Inc., regarding job skills assessment systems
- 11:30 a.m. Panel discussion with Ms. Susan Patrick, President, International Association for K-12 Online Learning, and Mr. Curtis Johnson, The Citistates Group, regarding the use of technology in education to expand access, improve learning opportunities, and increase efficiency
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Continued panel discussion with Ms. Patrick and Mr. Johnson
- 2:15 p.m. Break
- 2:25 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Commerce regarding the department's economic development strategic plan
- 4:45 p.m. Comments by Senator Grindberg regarding the activities of the Workforce Committee
- 4:50 p.m. Comments by Representative Monson regarding the activities of the Education Committee
- 4:55 p.m. Comments by Representative Skarphol regarding the activities of the Higher Education Committee
- 5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members Higher Education Committee

Representatives Bob Skarphol (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Mark A. Dosch, Kathy Hawken, Brenda Heller, Dennis Johnson, Nancy Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

Senators John M. Andrist, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Tom Seymour

Staff Contacts: Brady A. Larson, Fiscal Analyst

Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Workforce Committee

Senators Tony S. Grindberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Mac Schneider, Tom Seymour, Ryan M. Taylor

Representatives Donald L. Clark, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Lee Kaldor, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Lee Myxter, Michael R. Nathe, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams

Staff Contact: Jennifer S. N. Clark, Counsel

Education Committee

Representatives David Monson (Chairman), Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Brenda Heller, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, Karen Karls, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Jerry Kelsh, Lisa Meier, Corey Mock, Phillip Mueller, Lee Myxter, David S. Rust, John D. Wall

Senators JoNell A. Bakke, Robert S. Erbele, Layton W. Freborg, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: L. Anita Thomas, Counsel